Community Service Award

NCSPP is pleased to celebrate A Home Within (AHW) as our 2023 Community Service Award Recipient.

The NCSPP Community Service Award is an annual award presented for outstanding community service by an individual or a mental health organization in the field of psychoanalytic psychology. We believe that while the important work of building community serves a vital role in development of the social good, it remains under-recognized in our field. We want to honor those who spend their time and effort in this critical endeavor.

Nominations are accepted each Fall (September 1st through October 20th). To nominate an individual or a mental health organization please email us a paragraph description on why you think the individual or organization should be honored. Nominees should demonstrate excellence in leadership, creative commitment to social welfare, and dedication to community service. Nominees do not have to be members of NCSPP. All nominations received will be blind reviewed by the Board of Directors. We will announce the award in the January issue of Impulse.  

While we deeply appreciate the ingenuity, dedication, and hard work of our community's many stellar organizations and individuals, NCSPP will only accept repeat CSA nominations for organizations and individuals who have not yet won the award within the previous 5 years.

Community Award Recipients:

2005: Toni Heineman/A Home Within

2006: Maureen Murphy

2007:  Bart Magee/Access Institute
2007:  Barbara Blasdel

2008:  Ruth Fallenbaum/Survivors International

2009:  Bruce Weitzman
2009:  Marjorie Schlenoff

2010:  RAMS

2011:  Terrance McLarnan/CHD

2012:  West Coast Children’s Center

2013:  Linda Zataresky

2014:  Diane Ehrensaft

2015: The Psychotherapy Institute

2016: Katie Fahrner
2016: Sharon Tyson

2017: Kadija Johnson
2017: Maria St. John

2018: Reflective Spaces | Material Places

2019: Audrey Dunn

2020: Elizabeth Rawson and Michael Levin/The Frontline Workers Counseling Project

2021:  Francisco Gonzalez, M.D. and Rachael Peltz, Ph.D./Community Psychoanalysis Track (CPT) 

2022: Elizabeth Kita, LCSW, Ph.D.

2023: A Home Within